November 23, 2020—At least 1,000 campus journalists and school publication advisers in Central Luzon are set to participate in the Department of Education Regional Office III Online Training and Workshop on Campus Journalism on November 26-27 via Google Meet as platform.

The said activity, with the theme “Campus Journalists under New Normal: Challenges and Opportunities”, supports Republic Act No. 7079 or the Campus Journalism Act of 1991.

“It is quite unfortunate that because of the pandemic, we will not be having the usual press conference which our young campus journalists really look forward to at this time of the year. However, we do not want to make them idle that’s why we are conducting this online training and workshop for campus journalism for them to stay abreast of the skills and concepts in journalism,” said Regional Director May B. Eclar.

It aims to update participants on the latest trends, approaches, and principles of journalistic writing in view of the new normal in education. It also seeks to promote the right to access information, knowledge, and data necessary to strengthen journalistic values. The said training-workshop also aims to select three (3) best written outputs in each category in English and Filipino.

The categories in both English and Filipino include News Writing, Editorial Writing, Science and Technology Writing, Photojournalism, Online/Digital Campus Journalism, Feature Writing, Sports Writing, and TV/Radio Broadcasting.

“Campus journalism plays a pivotal role in the school. It trains campus journalists to be responsible writers in the exercise of press freedom. May this webinar enhance their journalistic writing skills to perform one of the cardinal principles of journalism: truth and accuracy,” added Ramil Ilustre, Regional English Supervisor and in-charge of Journalism.

The invited resource persons include JP Soriano, Zander Cayabyab, and Bam Alegre for News Writing; Michael Jugado and Bryan Eli Sadorra for Editorial Writing; Aries Oliveros and Ruby Shaira Panela for Science and Technology Writing; Prof. Jimmy Domingo and Dan Mark Nieto for Photojournalism; Dr. Eunice Custodio for Online/Digital Publishing; Randy Garlitos and Rupert Laxamana for Feature Writing; Karl Cedrick Basco and Ramon Rafael Bonilla for Sports Writing; and Nico Waje and Leinel Agudera for TV Broadcasting.l